Guest Opinions

Cost growth leaves us no choice but to challenge our fundamental assumptions. Our current approach generates more cost than value. We can shift how we integrate and take advantage of natural forces. This last article in the series points to a new platform grounded in today’s system science and experience.

OPINION- Today’s centralized networks cannot keep pace with the natural co-evolution of healthcare’s complex environment. What we know from system science and industry experience is that we need networks that can adapt and evolve with the environment.

Feb 22 2017
The organization reacted to a story that appeared in The Lund Report on balanced billing.

In the article, “Insurance Commissioner Tackles Surprise Balance Billing for Consumers,” we first acknowledge and applaud the Oregon legislature’s serious efforts to protect consumers from balance billing for emergency and surprise bills.

Feb 17 2017

Choice can be a double-edged sword—we all want more of it, but with too many choices paralysis can set in. Choosing a physician or hospital, for example, in an urban or suburban area without some kind of recommendation can truly be a daunting task.

Feb 8 2017
The author contends that President Trump’s “States Rights super waiver” executive order will allow Oregon to set the example.

OPINION -- Oregon’s greatest obstacles to solving our healthcare crisis are neither special interests nor our President.

Jan 23 2017
The author says it’s time to weed out the greed, particularly at Cambia which paid Mark Ganz, its CEO and president, $2.5 million.

OPINIOIN -- With healthcare prices out-of-control, the Oregon legislature should borrow an idea from Steve Novick's playbook.

Jan 23 2017
This article is the fourth in a five-part series. It follows “Purpose driven self-organizing healthcare” which explained what an adaptive delivery system might look at. This article describes the insurance model necessary to sustain it.

OPINION- The relationship between purchasers, providers, and consumers is dysfunctional.

Jan 20 2017
This opinion article has been submitted by the American Fluoridation Society.

OPINION -- In a recent anti fluoridation article in the Lund Report, Rick North expresses numerous misconceptions, misrepresentations, and errors.

Jan 13 2017
The sheer weight of scientific evidence has far exceeded reasonable doubt, and it’s difficult to see how the EPA, or anyone else, can continue to believe that water fluoridation is safe, according to the author.

OPINION -- Six weeks ago, the Fluoride Action Network, Food and Water Watch, Organic Consumers Association, American Academy of Environmental Medicine and several others petitioned the EPA to ban fluoridation

Jan 11 2017
This article is the third in a five-part series about a new model for sustainable healthcare delivery. The last article “Ashby’s law and the first step to affordable healthcare” explained why we need delivery networks as adaptable as delivery’s environment.

OPINION -- All of us and everything around us simultaneously participate in many networks and systems. Technology has extended what we refer to as a system, but the idea of connecting people, tools and resources to achieve a purpose is ancient.

Jan 10 2017

This article follows “A tale of two systems”, published in a prior edition of The Lund Report. This article explains the first fundamental change necessary for successful management of healthcare delivery. It is also the first principle of the Curandi Model™, a “systems thinking” approach to healthcare reform.

OPINION-- Within healthcare delivery the patient-centered primary care home is improving care and lowering cost. And, in social services, co-location with clinical services similarly improves outcomes and lower cost. Why aren’t these innovative micro-system improvements resulting in premium decreases?

Nov 30 2016

Pages