Guest Opinions

We bring important issues to the forefront at our monthly breakfast forums.

Earlier this week, I attend the Oregon Health Forum breakfast on Oregon’s Addiction Services System. Judge Eric Bloch moderated the discussion.

Nov 17 2017
We can no longer afford to discard substance abuse programs from our health insurance benefits.

OPINION -- This was the first of many surprising conclusions discovered by our committee of citizens. We spent seven months attempting to understand Oregon’s addiction problem.

Nov 17 2017

Response to North article of 10/3/2017

In a recent Lund Report, commenter Rick North stated a myriad of half-truths in regard to the public health initiative of water fluoridation. So, let’s sort things out, and bring the issue back into reality

Oct 6 2017

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) is intended to expand insurance coverage to millions of Americans, including those with preexisting conditions.

Oct 5 2017

On September 19, Environmental Health Perspectives, a highly-respected journal, published a study linking higher fluoride levels in pregnant women to lower IQ’s in their children.

Oct 4 2017

PORTLAND, Ore. – Communication breakdowns between care facilities can pave the way for outbreaks of infection, according to research on the spread of an extensively drug-resistant bacterium.

Sep 20 2017

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Researchers at Oregon State University have identified a pair of proteins that show promise as the basis for a gonorrhea vaccine.

Sep 20 2017

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Scientists at Oregon State University have taken an important step toward gene therapy for deaf patients by developing a way to better study a large protein essential for hearing and finding a truncated version of it.

Sep 20 2017

Much of the "health care debate" is not really about health or even health care. Rather, it's about financing the purchase of insurance products. And, having health insurance doesn't mean you have access to the care you need.

Sep 13 2017
The author contends that Buehler continues to work against efforts that protect access to comprehensive healthcare coverage, including contraception.

OPINION -- In case you missed it, Oregon gubernatorial candidate Knute Buehler and I have been engaged in debate about his claim to be a “pro-choice” candidate.

Sep 1 2017

Pages