Guest Opinions

This letter was sent to President Trump on March 13, 2017.

OPINIION -- The undersigned are former Chairs of the American Bar Association Health Law Section, an organization whose membership includes approximately 10,000 lawyers, associate members and law students.

Mar 24 2017
It’s time for Oregon policymakers to stop whistling past the graveyard and fast track much needed legislation to end the opioid abuse epidemic, according to the author.

OPINION -- It will take more than wishful thinking and good intentions to end Oregon’s opioid abuse epidemic.

Mar 21 2017
Consumers urgently need a comprehensive solution to rising healthcare costs, and the AHCA not only doesn’t get us there, the author contends.

OPINION -- I am increasingly concerned that Congress may be about to make a historic mistake that could raise costs and degrade the quality of healthcare for countless Oregonians—all without seriously taking on any of the myriad problems in our healthcare system.

Mar 21 2017
Bill would expand reproductive care access -- with abortion becoming a sticking point amongst religious healthcare providers

Guest Opinion-  Life comes with many shades of gray. When people confront tragedies and circumstances beyond their control, they have to make difficult choices that may shake their moral compass.

Mar 17 2017
Cost growth leaves us no choice but to challenge our fundamental assumptions. Our current approach generates more cost than value. We can shift how we integrate and take advantage of natural forces. This last article in the series points to a new platform grounded in today’s system science and experience.

OPINION- Today’s centralized networks cannot keep pace with the natural co-evolution of healthcare’s complex environment. What we know from system science and industry experience is that we need networks that can adapt and evolve with the environment.

Feb 22 2017
The organization reacted to a story that appeared in The Lund Report on balanced billing.

In the article, “Insurance Commissioner Tackles Surprise Balance Billing for Consumers,” we first acknowledge and applaud the Oregon legislature’s serious efforts to protect consumers from balance billing for emergency and surprise bills.

Feb 17 2017

Choice can be a double-edged sword—we all want more of it, but with too many choices paralysis can set in. Choosing a physician or hospital, for example, in an urban or suburban area without some kind of recommendation can truly be a daunting task.

Feb 8 2017
The author contends that President Trump’s “States Rights super waiver” executive order will allow Oregon to set the example.

OPINION -- Oregon’s greatest obstacles to solving our healthcare crisis are neither special interests nor our President.

Jan 23 2017
The author says it’s time to weed out the greed, particularly at Cambia which paid Mark Ganz, its CEO and president, $2.5 million.

OPINIOIN -- With healthcare prices out-of-control, the Oregon legislature should borrow an idea from Steve Novick's playbook.

Jan 23 2017
This article is the fourth in a five-part series. It follows “Purpose driven self-organizing healthcare” which explained what an adaptive delivery system might look at. This article describes the insurance model necessary to sustain it.

OPINION- The relationship between purchasers, providers, and consumers is dysfunctional.

Jan 20 2017

Pages